At Pembroke House School we are committed to providing a rigorous academic, intellectual, all-round education from the Early Years Foundation Stage through to Year 8, which will challenge and engage pupils, and offer continuity and progression of learning. We believe it is the right of every pupil in our care to make appropriate progress across all subject areas and those pupils classified as able, or those needing learning support, are provided with the stimulus and means to achieve. This support for all pupils provides a life-long love of learning and affords our pupils with a secure foundation on which to continue into Higher Education and careers of their choice.

Pupils are taught 45 periods per week and each lesson is of 30 or 40 minute periods. There is a strong emphasis on encouraging pupils to become enthusiastic and independent learners through the planning of a broad and varied curriculum, which adheres to the core requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and the British National Curriculum, but which goes much further. It is our aim to provide a curriculum that is balanced and broadly based, and promotes each pupil’s spiritual, moral, social, cultural, mental and physical development, thereby preparing each child for the next stage of education.

We believe in creating a positive work ethos, where children are praised and encouraged, challenged to explore and make discoveries about the world in which they live, and to feel comfortable about making mistakes in order that they can learn.

In the Foundation Stage and Years 1 – 4, the pupils are taught by their form teachers with class assistants and some subject specialists. In Years 5 – 8, more specialist teaching is progressively introduced and by the time pupils are in Years 7 and 8, they are taught almost entirely by subject specialists.



The Pembroke House School Curriculum is listed below:

Years 1 – 8

Kiswahili (Years 1 – 7)
Religious Studies
Latin (Year 5-8)
Computing (ICT)
Art – including Ceramics & Woodwork
Rhythm & Dance
Physical Education

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a play-based curriculum designed for children aged 2-5 years.

There are three prime areas of learning which are fundamental and underpin the rest of the curriculum:

  1. Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  2. Communication & Language
  3. Physical Development

Then there are four specific areas of learning:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World (Science, IT, humanities, RE, etc.)
  4. Expressive Arts & Design

The children learn through a mixture of child-initiated experiences and adult-planned activities. They are therefore given daily opportunities for purposeful play to explore and investigate, alongside the more formal teaching.